MWhitham Photos

By MWhitham

In fine company

I walked the streets of Bristol city centre for an hour in the cold until I spot the marvellous face of Richard. I could not resist this oppotunity for a Blip.
So I walked up to him and politely asked if I could take his portrait. He half rolled his eyes at me before a wry grin spread across his face. It turned out that he's always being stopped and asked to pose for pictures, more often than not by photography students from the local college. He then went on to tell me that he has also had his portrait exhibited in the National Portrait Gallery in London. No pressure then...


I always get a rush of nerves and excitement when asking a complete strainger if I can take their picture in the street, particularly if I think their face will make a good image. I think it's quite tricky because you know you don't have very much time to take the shot, before they lose their patient and want to walk on. Not least when you want to get five different compositions. The second buzz always happens when you get back to 'the light room' and process the image.



Richard works in the old indoor market. We were stood outside of it when I took his picture. Richard's a fun loving chap, he pulled an old black and white picture out of his pocket and said "who's that?" Well it was a photo of him, looking the spitting image of Bryan Ferry in a smart suit and black tie. Richard explained: "It's me back a few years when I used to be a civil servant, minister for factories." And if you look the eyes, cheek bones and nose. You can still see the look of Bryan Ferry I think.


What a great gentleman Richard is, thanks for your time and making my Blip day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.