Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Track and building work at Craig

Always a project to do.  Today was the N Scale's turn. Finally, I installed several uncoupling magnets at Craig.  All the other sidings on the railroad have similar magnets.  They have always worked well for me and the microtrain couplers. Makes uncoupling very easy and hands free. 

Naturally when I did the track work at Craig, I skipped putting them in (when it was easier) and ballasted everything.  Using my Dremel tool with a nasty looking saw blade, I cut off the ties between the rails so I could get the ties out and remove the ballast.  Then glued the uncoupling magnet between the rails.  A little fiddling but got it done. Tested each to make sure the cars and locos would pass over.

I do like the MT magnets.  Yes - they do not look real, but they work.  Back some cars over the magnet.  Stop on top, reverse and the car stays there.

Since this all looks better to me, I decided to replace all of the old plain paper rectangles that marked where the village buildings will go - someday.  The appearance was not good - and these have to be there for several years until I get to building the kits - mostly from Wild West. The large space in the middle with no paper and two sidings is the coal mine - "The John Coal Train Mine".  That is a cool kit from Blair Line (Cool Cash Mine).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.