BikerRich

By SadlerStar

Fisherman home from the sea!

Quite a chilly day today and I don't envy this fisherman his chosen profession.
We like fish though so, thank goodness someone is less of a wuss than me!!
Guernsey has a long fishing history but as far as I can see it is quite confusing because, although Guernsey is not part of the EU, we are very close to France so I think this causes lots of confusion over who can fish where and for what.
We all know there is pressure on fish stocks everywhere so I don't know how it will all end.
I do have a very old photo of my maternal grandfather who was a Guernsey fisherman many years ago. In the photo he is wearing his "guernsey" which is a classic Guernsey garment which used to be worn by nearly everybody years ago.
It has largely faded from sight now because they tend to be a bit itchy and too warm for modern lifestyles. When we lived in Scotland our whole family wore them even in August but on returning to Guernsey we found them way too hot.
Here is a little more information should you be interested:
guernsey
The Guernsey fishermen have an area of harbour set aside solely for their use and this boat is tied up to a pontoon attached to the fishermen's quay, needless to say it is a very untidy but interesting place.
8-)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.