Day 3 - Skiing

Snow continues to fall so visibility is limited and even quite early in the morning great heaps of snow start to form as we skiers cut up the soft piste. This is part of the paradox of skiing. We need snow to ski, but we hope it arrives the week before we do! Falling snow makes life a little difficult for us but it does make for very beautiful scenery (extra).
My companions drop off and head for home. I've always been reluctant to stop skiing before the lifts close, or my legs have no strength left. These days it's usually the latter and today is no exception. Around 2 o'clock I turn for home knowing I have several slopes to cover before I get back to Arabba.
As I'm skiing past this hotel car park I hear people laughing and speaking German, and see these three cars, virtually invisible under their deep covering of snow. The snow is is almost up to the wing mirrors and as if it isn't enough work to dig out the cars even the car park itself has not been cleared, so they'll have to clear a space to back the car out and then clear down to the road.
That's quite a job before they head back for home. However, they are taking it in good heart so I leave them to it and take the final lift before skiing down to Arabba.
Tomorrow the forecast is for sun and blue skies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.