Roque Bentagya

Three were counted out. Only two were counted back in.

The day which should have been the cycling highlight of the holiday turned into a disaster when Roam inexplicably wiped out on a perfectly straight, uphill section of road just before Artenera, the highest town on the island. He removed a lot of skin and it was soon obvious that he wasn't going to be able to ride on. He took a very long taxi ride home while Forrest and I aborted the planned circular route and went back the way we came.

The plus was that Roam found his cycling legs today, as did Forrest. He dropped me on the final big climb of the day.

I was tempted to post a gruesome shot of Roam's wounds and shredded cycling gear, but I'd rather remember the day by the amazing landscape. I think the lads would too. They're not going to be deterred by a few scrapes.

My sons seem to take after me in too many respects!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.