Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Clock in a bowl under a Glass Dome.

     This is the project I have been working on for quite sometime now and am nearing the end of it. The only parts I have not made myself, is the clock and the Glass Dome.!!!!!
     It all started with the bowl I began turning before Christmas but as you may remember it cracked so could not turn it anymore in case it blew apart.
     I was not going to waste the wood however, so put my thinking cap on and came up with this idea. All I have to do to it now is put the cover on the back (hinged) and in the same wood.(Sapele) of the clock, give a through polishing and then it will be finished.
     One of the difficult parts was sourcing the right size glass dome. It came by carrier and luckily it was so well wrapped it was still in one piece. Not cheap either.
     Having got that I proceeded with turning the base and routing the groove for the dome and putting a nice edge around the base. There was no room for error. One slip with the router, it would have been ruined. 
I will be attaching the actual clock and bowl to the base by glueing it, then the base and clock become one. 
     There a couple more extras to look at. One without the dome on. Sorry about the reflections on the glass. Could not do anything about that!!
The woods I have used are Ash and Sapele.
     My apologies for my absence, but in between looking after Mrs B it has taken me some what longer to complete.
I hope you are all well. 
All these panic buyers are none other than extremely selfish. I could rant on about it but I won't.

Take care and stay well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.