Finally

Christmas 2018 my friend Jane gave me an Amaryllis bulb, all covered in sparkling wax and completely lifeless looking. No instructions.
I peeled off a bit of wax and sat it in some water, and it grew a few roots but looked miserable. Finally I thought the wax must be bad for it so I peeled it all off and planted it in some compost. It reluctantly grew some strappy leaves and then those started to brown off.
I had a look on google and it suggested that a period of dormancy might be the thing, so I stopped watering it and when the leaves were dry I put it in the Glory Hole and forgot all about it.
Then on a visit to Lynne she showed me her plant which lives in her porch all year and I remembered that I had one too!
When I got home I had a look for it and discovered it had a twelve inch stem all blanched and ghostly looking!
Emergency water and windowsill and some weeks later voila! Quite striking.
When it has finished I will pot it on and fingers crossed for another flower maybe at Christmas?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.