horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

In the Red

I really shouldn't have gone to work in the first place - the lurgy has remained in place, and while Mel decided to remain under the covers I decided that the fresh air on the ride in might help.

And it didn't.

There's also this strange phenomenon when you're a bloke that you're effectively not actually allowed to be ill. The amount of 'man-flu' references I got today from my two room-mates was getting more than a little annoying. Apparently yesterday I had said I had flu (I was asked if I felt flu-y, "Yes", I answered, before tagging on the end, "It's not flu though, just a cold") which just went to prove that men simply build things up. Clearly.

The fact Mel was still home in bed, and you can count my sick days in the whole of my life on the fingers of one hand (not counting broken bones necessitating hospital stays, or severe back pain, those seem to count as genuine with female colleagues), means nothing. Bloke = Putting it on.

Anyway, I came home at lunchtime, checked on Mel, made something to eat, and sat in the sun for a couple of hours with the chickens and my fixed wheel bike (the other day I put some new tyres, pedals and a chain on - there were a couple of niggles I needed to sort, as well as seeing to some marks on the frame, and all of this could be done mindlessly sitting on the back step with no effort required). The chain, ironic given the shot, is the only bit I'm not sure of at the mo, just doesn't seem heavy duty enough compared to what came off...

I was starting to get a little breathless sat outside (put on, obviously) so have moved inside. I hate being off ill, especially when the weather is like this, cos I just can't really get anything done. Maybe I should just revel in the fact that I've got a chance to relax for once...

Other garden/bike/chicken shots:

Leap of Faith for Missy

New Boots On

Side On

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.