kirstymill

By kirstymill

Camera

I brought this camera back home with me today. It's my dad's old camera. It's been sitting in my old room at my mum's house since my dad gave it to me shortly before he passed away last summer. Somehow I was always carrying too much to add it to my bag when I left my mum's, until now.

I remember my dad using it when I was a child. I particularly remember the sound of him winding on the film. And of getting impatient as he set up a shot! I think he had lost interest by the time I reached my teens or early 20s as I don't remember him using it when I was older. I do know that he took a lot of pleasure in it when he was taking photographs and it was something he still valued even after he stopped using it.

I dont know if it still works. But whether it works or not, it's a little connection to my dad and something I will treasure. I'm so glad I finally brought it home with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.