Journeyman

By AFoolOnTheHill

Counting Sheep

One of the advantages of having property on the Isle of Lewis, Outer Hebrides is without realising it, you fall in love with sheep, namely the Scottish Blackface.

The Isle of Lewis had a potential claim in 2012 to having the worlds oldest sheep, a Blackface nicknamed Methuselina, aged 25 years 11 months.

Her longevity was put down to having most of her teeth, allowing her to graze,. Unfortunately she met her demise by going over a cliff, which indicates her eyesight wasn't as healthy as her gums.

When we're back in the city we get our fix by having a flock of sheep in one small corner of our bookcase.

"When I was young they used to get me counting sheep, but the counting I did was all in vain, no when I'm tired and I'm trying to get to sleep, I count humans jumping onto trains"...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.