horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Fired?

I was going to use the raggedy Blue Tit in the extra today, but I just loved this shot of Harris in the evening.

Though he's now currently zooming about the house having come to somewhat....

Nice day off work today (planned), going for a walk out in a country estate, then bizarrely seeing LOADS of people we're told are in the coronavirus-vulnerable group (over-70s) making up at least 75% of the clientele in the shop and cafe.

At least if we end up having to isolate we have the garden to get out into for some fresh air - and jobs to do there to keep things ticking over. But work has now moved, post-COBRA announcement, to one week in the office, one week working at home. This despite our two Dutch offices, our London office, and at least one of our US offices shutting completely, and everyone working from home. If I was cynical, knowing issues there are with the strain on IT systems dealing with everyone logging in remotely, I might suggest we're being used as the flex in the system.

Weirdly the A / B team protocol also isn't to apply until Wednesday. But since I have everything I need here, and I'm in the B team that is working from home first (from Wednesday), I've let the boss know I'll be starting remoteness tomorrow. And that's with someone who was going to be cycling to work, and not having to mix it on public transport.... I'm not overly concerned for myself (young (ish), fit, and coincidentally from some recent blood tests, in good health, so I'm unlikely to be hit hard), but it would mean Mel's dad then not being able to have contact with us, and he's on his own, and Mel's an only child.

Pondering trying to set up some sort of network in the street as well. It's all very very odd.

But right now (after keeping up on emails while on holiday today and over the weekend, but getting a snippy, delay-implying email from a US colleague, that has prompted me to note my frustration with the boss in case of future issues, I'm going to retire with a book and a whisky. Forget the tautological self-isolation for a while. This is self-medication.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.