Ferjen

By Ferjen

Garden

More work in the garden today. It is covered in stones and weed membrane, so now the job is to scrape that off so we can rotovate and put grass seed down. We are up against the clock as the seed ideally needs to go down by the end of this month. I did some more today but still lots to do.

While I raked and carried the stones out in a bucket to the skip, I and B were on worm duty. To their delight they relocated dozens of wiggly worms to the safe zone (the edges of the garden).

That is the problem with gardening, I am destroying the home of lots of little creatures but it couldn't stay so overgrown as it was and I will make some nice wildlife areas around the edges when finished.

Other than gardening, we walked to Greggs for lunch and then drove to Sandhurst park. We played in the park and then fed the ducks and swan, the girls had a good day I think.

I watched Boris's announcement about social distancing while preparing dinner and I feel frightened about what the next few months will be like. I felt a bit panicked in honesty. Concerned about family getting ill, frightened about work and paying bills, it feels more real today. I have spoken to Don and will do his shopping each week and his neighbours if needed. He lives on a retirement complex. Plus I am admin on a local facebook group woth others. Our community is amazing and everyone is coming together as it has in the past. We will divvy the roads up between a group of volunteers and leaflet, each road will have volunteers and details of who to support if/when they need it. Helping makes feel a bit more in control of what is a situation that none of us can control or predict.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.