A Then & Now blip...

... with a slight twist.

As I collect these Then & Now shots for a possible Harrogate Library Calendar for 2021, I chose this particular old shot, probably from the early 20th Century. The old car was interesting (contrasting well with the modern vehicle which arrived as I set up the shot) and the building in the background is now the famous) Bettys Tea Rooms, which was clearly under construction.

The  extra twist came when I was surprised that the normally extensive queue of people waiting for a table at Bettys was missing. On investigation, I found the cafe tables empty (a very rare sight) due to the company having closed the cafe because of the current pandemic. 

Here's hoping that everything will be back to normal, if and when we produce  a  2021 Calendar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.