Lel

By Lel

Home for now!

Matty was due to fly back to Iraq last night to complete his tour.
They were all ready to go from Brize norton when at the last moment they got orders from his military bosses that Cyprus (where they fly to before going to Iraq) would not allow any flights including military flights into or out of the country.
I can’t tell you how happy I am that he does not have to go back at this time. It’s also highly unlikely they will go back at all and they are looking to bring back his colleagues still out there as soon as possible.
I actually cried with relief when he rang to tell me.
His Nana is happy as well.
Him and the rest of his battalion that are home are now making plans to go to Scotland for Brodie’s funeral. (For those unaware, Brodie was the British soldier killed last week in Iraq, she served along side Matty and his fellow soldiers.) They can now go and pay their respects and I think it will help them come to terms with her loss.
I have much to be grateful for x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.