St. Patrick's Day

I'm so grateful for so much. 
Last weekend I realized my neck had healed so much that I can carry my camera, with the big lens, around my neck and shoulder. I couldn't do that six months ago. 
I'm grateful that we have the internet. 
Because we believe the supply chain will stay in good order for the foreseeable future there is no need to horde or panic. I can stay in my home. I don't have to go out and hunt or forage. I am not dependent on my lousy gardening skills. I am not reliant on food I've preserved. When we run out, we'll order more. 
There is a problem. I have a home to hide in. I have a job that continues. I have health insurance (as lousy as I've discovered the American health care system to be). 
Someone else will deliver the food, someone who can't telecommute, someone who probably has no sick leave and no health insurance, someone, who, if treated properly, would not be delivering my food.
There are some fairly radical ideas being proffered, radical for us anyway. They could help save people from financial devastation.  
A Republican politician suggested that we give everyone $1000, not as a tax cut, but as a check, to be sent immediately. This would help so many desperately poor, at least for a month. The idea has gained traction - it might actually happen. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.