Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Live Oak

This is probably my favorite tree.   The live oak will continue to keep its leaves through the winter and they will remain greenish until new growth comes out in the spring.   Then it gets little "tassle" flowers that makes lots of pollen.  The acorns come off in the fall and are very tiny.    I always think of this tree as the "swing" tree because the branches grow almost horizontal so that the old rope swing could be hunt on it with no  problem.  You know I like to swing!! 

These trees get really large and really old.   The Angel Oak on Johns Island, SC is thought to be 400 -500 years old and the limbs are so long and heavy that the lower limbs lay on the ground.    

I saw this tree this morning when I stopped at a small park that is near the office where I am working part time.   There was no one else there except a homeless man sitting on a bench.   And some robins and squirrels.    The park is not that large but I did make the walk around the loop trail.   

 

Got my first paycheck for work since I retired.  Feels weird!   

Nine months today since I broke my ankle.    Celebrated by walking a 20 minute mile which is fast walking for my short legs!!   Usually it takes me about 24 minutes but I am trying to build up some stamina sine I usually amble along while taking photos.

Great weather here the next two days.  State Parks are open for hiking so I might be dragging the hubby out tomorrow to some new place we haven't been!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.