Gone Fishing

Well, I won't be fishing but I may be gone from blip for awhile...as I lowered myself to take a macro, I suddenly found myself on the ground with some moderate pain.  And what did I land on?  My camera went face down into the mud to break my fall.  It's now resting in rice.  If I can't clean all the mud out, I'll have to decide whether to take it in for a cleaning or wait a few months??? What?  No blipping for months??? Oh - this feels like an emergency to me!  Plan B is to buy another camera.

Anyway, there were lots of fishermen and one fisherwoman in the creek and river today but not many fish biting.  This fella is pointing to where he caught a steelhead this morning.  I blipped snowdrops in the woods, dead trees sticking out of the river, a mallard couple, and a white boxer.

This popped into my mind last night from history class long ago:

"THESE are the times that try men's souls.  The summer soldier and the sunshine patriot will, in this crisis, shrink from the service of their country, but he that stands it now, deserves the love and thanks of man and woman."

"What we obtain too cheap, we esteem too lightly; it is dearness only that gives everything its value.  Heaven knows how to put a proper price upon its goods; and it would be strange indeed if so celestial an article as FREEDOM should not be highly rated."

Thomas Paine, The Crisis No. 1 (written 19 December 1776, published 23 December 1776).

A landlord in the Ohio City neighborhood is giving all his tenants one month free rent to help them out since most work in the restaurant industry.  Most Clevelanders will give the shirt off their backs if they can help a stranger. 

Thanks for your visits and stay healthy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.