Lala's Journal

By Lala

Working from Home......

First day and I already know it’s not for me! I know I am going to have to get used to it, but I Don’t like it! Why?
1 Mr L plays guitar for hours at a time
2 Mum’s old laptop is sooooooo slow
3 Whilst I can write and edit all my documents on it, I can’t save them to my personal device (GDPR) which means I can’t forward anything
4 the old laptop Has a different version of something so it’s all strange and taking me ages to do the simplest of tasks
5 There’s no Costa on site
6 The lack of conversation, passing comments and even just a ‘hi, how are you?’ Is a quick break
7 The dining table and chair gave me cramp in my shoulder
8 The experience has turned me into a grouchy, moaning person!

When I told the boss yesterday that Due to having asthma  I would be working from home 3-4 days a week he muttered something about needing a letter from HR and maybe I needed to take leave, maybe unpaid leave! I was shocked it didn’t quite register at the time. It does now after 6 hours (I did take a half hour to watch the lunchtime news and eat a sandwich) at that dining table and laptop making cancellations, spreadsheet reports, amended rota, and refunds! Leave? I think not! Tomorrow will be even more difficult I think as now the schools are closing indefinitely there will be more cancellations on the longer term bookings. It is a sad time, and that is the last time I moan because all I really want is for all my friends and family to be safe, and keep their homes and jobs. The measures are necessary ones and I will try not to moan again!

The photo was taken at Folkestone as later this afternoon I went to have my hearing aids fitted. They are going to take longer than I thought to get used to them! Why is everyone shouting at me?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.