Framing the Fort

By TheHairyCoo

Su-Su-Sudio

There are times when you volunteer. And then there are times when you are volunteered.

...if you're very lucky, there are even times when you're volunteered for something you fall head-over-heels in love with.

And so it proved with this.

When a hyper-local radio station got in touch with the department to see if anyone would be interested in being a co-presenter on its health show, I was apparently the unanimous choice. While I like to think this is due to my love of explaining things & my natural charisma...but I suspect it's got as much to do with my garrulous love of my own voice!

SHMU FM was set up to promote awareness of its parent project, the Station House Media Unit, which delivers media and employability training for people from Aberdeen's "development areas" (the areas which have benefitted least from the city's oil boom).

It's an incredible project, encompassing school kids, senior citizens and people with disabilities, and one I'm incredibly proud to be a part of.

I originally started off co-presenting, but when the lovely Mel left to pursue new adventures, I was one of 3 who crossed the desk to present. It brought new challenges, but I get really energised by them.

As you can see, it's been a happy marriage! I absolutely love the buzz of it. Turns out live radio is addictive- who knew? ;-)

For those interested, SHMU's website can be found here.

(and yes, there is a listen again feature for the Health Show, but if you'd really like to hear what my voice sounds like...it hasn't been uploaded yet;-) (should be by Tuesday afternoon;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.