Not broken

Back in Perth! I haven't written much on my last few posts so maybe I should write a little here.

I was at work for two weeks and now I have two weeks off (well for now at least). Work went well though I was 100% ready for a break, I was sick in the final week, we think heat stress. Last swing was crazy in terms of what was going on outside our little mining world, when I flew to work there was talk of a virus in italy, a few days in Italy quarantined, then flight restrictions all over, then news of panic buying and economic turmoil. It really seemed like it was mad Max or something out there.

Inevitably having worked 3 years as a seasonal adventure guide I hear that a lot of my friends are out of work and/or stuck abroad. I guess I'm a little stuck abroad too (I couldn't even go home if I wanted, and planes were still flying, as my passport was off for renewal, got it back today though!)

Pretty nervous heading back to perth, felt like a fool wearing a mask on a plane full of businessmen from Geraldton to Perth last night.

Today I got to see the new world and to be honest life in Perth is really really normal. No personal restrictions, just a lack of oats and tinned tomatoes (and loo roll of course).

I got my car serviced, did a weekly supermarket shop, and drove to the next city over (Mandurah) to buy a wetsuit.

Sandy lost his job so is flying back to Perth tomorrow, looking forward to seeing him.

It's going to be interesting to see where the next week's take the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.