Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Liverpool under a cloud

Day 2 of working from home, and already I’m flustered, frustrated and unfocused! 

In common with my workmates, I’m having a few technical difficulties (absolutely no reflection on colleagues who’ve been utterly heroic in their efforts to get all the IT sorted out), and haven’t really done much actual work beyond exchanging what feels like several thousand emails, WhatsApp messages and ‘phone calls with the rest of the team. 

I had to step away from my laptop and ‘phone for a while this afternoon and go for a walk down to the river to prevent my head from exploding! I suspect you might be getting many ‘views from the prom’ over the next few weeks! 

There were quite a lot of people out and about and my main observation was that I seemed to be the only one making any effort to stay 3 steps (2 metres) away from other pedestrians, as we’ve been instructed to do. Personally, I’d rather appear to be rude by swerving people than put myself or them at any added risk...

When I got home, the local window-cleaners were out doing all their customers’ windows in my street, including mine. I understand completely why precarious micro-businesses will be keen to earn as much as they possibly can at the moment but, again, I worried about the risk they were potentially putting themselves and their customers at. It’s so difficult to know what’s sensible and what’s an over-reaction.

How are you all doing? You’re all very much in my thoughts, particularly those of you with additional childcare responsibilities now that the schools are closed; and with anyone trying to keep themselves or others reasonably sane and occupied, with such limited options at our collective disposal. 

Keep taking care my friends. Xx

Today’s song is ‘Winter Turns to Spring’ by Robb Johnson www.youtube.com/watch?v=mSZ4E2MoYjE to remind us to keep hoping, no matter how bad the situation. 

“From Prague to Santiago,
Belfast to Beijing,
Underground and undefeated, 
Winter turns to spring.” 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.