Photos from A Field

By RandallFriesen

First day of spring

In a distinctly different way than I normally am, I awoke this morning before 5 am. It was the kind of awake that meant that as long as I tried, I couldn't find sleep again.

So I got up and left herself to her dreams. And as I got up I remembered that it wasn't all a dream, that this crazy worldwide virus was still here and still inflicting itself on our lives, my life. I'm guessing that's why I was awake so early. Stress, intense work, and the like. So I got up and got ready to face the day.

It was quite nice actually. I puttered around in the semi-dark house. I did some banking, paid some bills, and decided to have breakfast. I'm not normally a big breakfast guy, but I was up and it really was too early to head to work.

I made a lovely breakfast of Captain Crunch cereal, Rye toast, and coffee. I tuned in a radio station in the time zone ahead of me, and I just enjoyed the quiet before the craziness of the day ensued.

That was when I thought, I should take a blip of this because who knows where today goes. So that's the photo above.

I was glad I did take it, because the day did go that way. Busy. I'm hopeful that as this new way of life takes hold and new rhythms are started, and as people get more used to it, that things should get slower and quieter. 

I hope anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.