Has Given Me A Lot To Smile About

Up to the yard after work today and I decided to try something new with China. China doesn’t like to hack on his own and last year I couldn’t even get him to leave the yard in hand on his own. He would grow and snort and spin and walk over me.

This evening, after our recent training and with the help of Ali, I decided to see how China would cope with a walk out on his own. I was leading and Ali had a bag of treats with a target and a clicker incase we got ‘stuck’.

Oh my days I was so pleased, he was so calm and relaxed. He had the odd stop and look but nothing serious. We were out for about an hour and walked past the scary cemetery from Monday night no problem. On the way home I had the treats and clicker too so I could click and reward him for a calm, relaxed walk especially where he was taking the lead and walking slightly ahead of me. I can see light at the end of the hacking out on our own tunnel at last.

From the top of our hill as I drove home was the most glorious pink sunset. This, added to the fact I was actually able to buy toilet roll from Tesco this evening, has given me a lot to smile about during these tricky times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.