Unprecedented...

That word is becoming the most used one of the week.

Sitting in my office in the Parliament preparing to deliver a statement on the UK Coronavirus Bill , for which I am taking through the process of legislative consent, I had the monitor on watching and listening to John Swinney talking about school closures and the unprecedented (there it is again) cancellation of the exam diet, which has not happened since the annual diet started in 1888.

The generation that will miss out this year will be well served by the arrangements put in place by the talented SQA team lead by a former education official who worked with me when I was Education Secretary, Fiona Robertson.   

But it is something nobody would ever have predicted, so unpredictable is a good word too.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.