BUMBLING

Another key worker with its life turned upside down, struggling to find normality.

I'm struggling a bit today, too, to be honest. Mum's watching all the news, reading the paper and taking it in, but still failing to see some of the ramifications if she, Mel or any of us become ill. I'm trying to reinforce the messages about distancing, staying safe, not taking risks that would mean she'd need attention for an injury, and she sticks out her bottom lip and tells me she got through the war and things were far more difficult then . Well, yes Mum, but you weren't 91 and very frail, and anyway we're not talking about rationing! And then I find her walking around upstairs without her walking trolley. I know this is what she's like, but now there are the 'what ifs' as above. And I hate the thought that I can't kiss her goodbye when I leave on Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.