Day 3

Since I received beautiful flowers, delivered through the letterbox, for Mother’s Day from #2 daughter.   I won’t be seeing T, M & the lovely Lily (granddaughter) on Sunday but we plan to do group skypes to include #1 daughter (she's a Special Needs Teacher, so still goes to work), grandson in Bristol (who has just had to close his pub) Granddaughter in Edinburgh and as many of Mr H’s family as we can round up. One of Mr H’s grandsons is the sound & lighting Director for OMD who recently started their tour in Australia; very soon after their arrivals all gigs were cancelled, P has been able to get home but is now in isolation for at least 14 days.
 
I’ve been to the hairdresser.  Appointment was supposed to be set for Tuesday but the owner of the Salon phoned to say she was closing on Tuesday, but that I could come in today at 2pm.  I did, and very glad too as sadly she won’t be opening up next week, nor can Mr H’s D-in-L’s café/restaurant which has to shut forthwith.  The only upside of which is they have brought us a huge homemade cottage pie, eggs, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes and a promise of an industrial loo roll!!
 
Thank you so much to BikerBear  for hosting FlowerFriday,  such a light relief in these hugely worrying times. 
 
Another light relief:  I heard Dr Sarah Jarvis on Radio 2 this morning talking about her dear Mother who died some 20 years ago after a very hard struggle with cancer, but whose great sense of humour never failed her even as the last catheter was inserted: 
Nurse to Mother  ‘I do hope I’m not hurting you too much?’
Mother to Nurse ‘Oh no dear, just do what you have to do down there’
Mother to Daughter  ‘ But remember what I told you:  don’t ever say this to your husband’ ………………………………….!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.