AviLove

By avilover

Broken water

Heavy winds from the northeast brought in big swells to the coast this afternoon. These are the biggest waves I've seen here in Oamaru, and unlike anything I've witnessed so far they were exploding against the breakwater at the end of the harbor. Usually there are endless shags (mostly Spotted and Stewart Island varieties) out at the end of this jetty, but today only the hardiest were facing the brunt of the sea's temperament.

The breakwater was built out into the ocean long ago, along with a perpendicular wharf, to create a squarish harbor for the town, and at tremendous expense, both at the time of construction and into today. The sea is strong here and as it says on the interpretive plaques that line the harbor, man's attempts to tame it have wreaked financial havoc on the area and its tax payers, for now the breakwater must be continually revamped and repaired to keep the small but significant harbor protected.

Really, has anyone ever heard of a jetty constructed that didn't cause immense and endless problems?

I woke early this morning, around 6:30, and walked down to the harbor to sit and think for a long time while the sun rose over the water, which was at that time still quite calm. The lapping of the waves pacified a vague tension that has been building in the back of my mind, and put me in a state of reflection. I realize now it's time to move on, as happy as I have been here. I'll be on my way to the Otago peninsula, just a few hours south, tomorrow.

Comments and correspondence have gotten away from me the last few days, I'll try my best to catch up soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.