Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Building a home

Hello, Blipsters! It’s been a long time since I’ve been here. I decided to dust off my old camera and start shooting again. This odd isolation time is causing many of us to get in touch with our creative selves. It’s an amazing time, a bit of a phenomenon really, and I keep thinking I should feel guilty for enjoying it so much. Actually, my days haven’t changed all that much, except having more time with Laurie — it’s my perspective that has changed.

Eight years ago I documented a bushtit family that had a nest in our courtyard. There have been several more attempts by the birds to build nests there, but something has prevented their success. Now they’re at it again - “nevertheless she persisted.” We were late to the party last time, but this time we’re watching them build the nest from the start, and it is fascinating. It takes them weeks to build it; and in then end, it resembles a tube sock. The eggs, then the babies are tucked in at the bottom, so we don’t even see them until it’s time to fledge. Our bedroom looks out over the courtyard, so I can hang out in bed with my coffee, my binoculars, and my camera and watch the show! It’s a great way to start my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.