SILLY SATURDAY COLLAGE

We were both up quite early this morning, so decided to go down to the garage for our daily walk and then carry on along the lane opposite.  It was sunny, but still windy, but we were well wrapped up and comforted ourselves with the fact that it wasn’t raining!

Of course, I was on the lookout for anything for Silly Saturday and we had only just walked out of our road when I saw the Poo Bin by the side of the pavement.  I hope it doesn’t offend anyone, but it’s very true at the moment, "our country doesn’t need poo" - it needs us all to be kind, understanding, mindful of others and to do what the Government is asking us to do, whether we like it or not.  It’s not going to be easy, but we are all in this together.

A few days ago we had seen an advertisement in a nearby bus shelter, which I had earmarked for a Silly Saturday shot, so I asked Mr. HCB to stand at the side and wave, which he said he would do, but it might cost more to do that - how silly!

We then walked through the Holiday Inn, which of course, will probably be closed now for sometime and saw the electric charging point, so I asked Mr. HC B if he would like to stand near that for another Silly Saturday shot - he wasn’t overjoyed, but said he would - but also reminded me that the more photographs I took of him, the higher his charges would go!

We arrived at the garage and saw Richard, another Manager at the M & S Shop in the BP Garage, unloading lots of boxes from a lorry - we hesitated before going past, to make sure we were the requisite two metres away, but said that we appreciated the fact that they were letting us buy things “through the window”.  Richard said that he was happy for us to do that, and told us that if we needed anything we could ring ahead and they would get it ready for us to collect.  Definitely NOT silly, but very thoughtful - as I was more than two metres away, I took a quick pic of Richard.  I also left a copy of yesterday’s Blip for Maureen, who was off this weekend, together with a little heart.  Mind you, what was silly was that Richard told us they opened at 5 a.m. every morning - to even think of going down there at that time is very silly!

Having purchased our newspapers, one for us and one for our next-door neighbours, to finish off the collage is what has now become our daily selfie - Mr. HCB was definitely not happy about that and asked me how many more selfies I intended taking.  What a silly question - I told him that he should be grateful I considered him photogenic enough to keep taking photographs - with a “harrumph”, he wandered off - so I may have to pander to him and not do a selfie tomorrow but then again...........

We saw quite a lot of runners, bikers and walkers this morning, all taking advantage of the beautiful weather - then it was home to read the paper and have a cup of coffee.  Mr. HCB is now pottering in the garden again - personally, I think that’s a  bit silly, as it is still very windy, but we are keeping busy in our own way, and aren’t bored yet.  

Our other next-door neighbour, Sandra, rang me late yesterday afternoon to say that if we put a note in our window or on the side door, when she took their dog out for its early morning walk, she would look at the note and then get us anything we needed.  I think this dire situation is bringing out the best in people - and we need to forget about the “shelfish” people who are clearing supermarket shelves.  

Instead, let’s major on the good things in life and the kindnesses shown to us - that is definitely NOT silly!

“You cannot do a kindness too soon, 
     for you never know how soon 
          it will be too late.”
Ralph Waldo Emerson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.