VdK

Early morning appointment in Memmingen. Luckily it was so cold my car wouldn't start and so had to borrow Angie's. Don't like going to the big smoke in my illegal, MOT-less, car as the large STOP BREXIT poster in the back window does tend to draw attention to the rear and the telltale MOT expiry date on the number plate.

First time in a big town since Corona became such a topic. Strange feeling entering the offices of the VdK but luckily there was only one employee there and no other visitors. Was told the person who should have been doing my appointment had called in sick! However, her replacement was brilliant, helpful, efficient & friendly and in 10 minutes all was done.

The VdK is a German-wide organisation with 2 million members concerned with matters of Social Justice and in particular helps people with all matters around age, pension, social security, disability, care and health both practically but also with a very active & loud lobbying voice at both State and National Parliament levels. 

I joined them 10 years ago when I was hit by a disabling illness and although only used them once back then to get advice on pensions, have kept paying the small monthly sub as it simply seems to be such a worthwhile organisation. Today I went as I need to complete a pile of forms for applying for my final pension which starts in summer. Given my somewhat mixed up English & German state pension history thought they may have a bit more knowledge than our parish council team who also help with such matters.

Lady went through all the forms, asking questions and filling it all in. Finally copied a few bits of paperwork I had brought with me and then said: "All done". I asked: "What about the forms, I need to send them in?" "NO, no," she said, "we do that and the reply from the state pension people will come to us and we will check it for accuracy. You don't need to do anything!".

Fantastic and also saved me from going to the post office. On the negative side, I didn't get to take a photo in Memmingen today but have cheated a bit as just a couple of days later the certificate and silver pin on today's photo arrived in the post, thanking me for 10 years membership.

I wonder if they can help me complete my UK State pension application forms which are also now due! Assuming, of course, UK will still be paying pensions to their citizens living in the EU.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.