Procuring Food

It might take a little imagination to see that there is an upside-down bee with half its body inside the blue part of the streletzia in search of its dinner. Undignified and rather silly. I hope I don't have to stand on my head for my dinner

It's been a week since we last went to the store. That's a long time for us as  I haven't shopped for a week's worth of food since my kids were little. We're still in good shape. Our Blue Apron meals are delivered on schedule and the local restaurant produced a very nice carry out meal for us yesterday. We're beginning to run low on a few things like bread, so we are thinking about our strategy for getting more.

 Our favorite grocery store is opening from 6 to 7 for seniors to 'shop in peace'. That's 6-7 am , mind you, an hour I am completely unfamiliar with and therefore not even compos mentis. John would be willing to go but I shudder to think what it would be like. Wednesday has always been senior discount day at Oliver's and we always avoid it because it is crowded with absent minded oldsters parked in  the middle of the too narrow aisles pondering their lists, rearranging the contents of their carts or sometimes just standing there, probably thinking, now what did I come here for? I say this with respect because, of course WE are the same, but I can't see how allowing the not inconsiderable elderly population of Santa Rosa into into the store before dawn is likely to work out well. Especially when social distancing is to be maintained. That would mean two people couldn't pass in the aisles. especially when the produce workers are out with their own carts restocking the produce. The produce section is always the worst....

We're contemplating ordering our groceries from Amazon (Whole Foods)
I heard they are hiring 400,000 more workers because in these days of sheltering in place their services are in greater demand than ever....

We are both struggling not to let small frustrations turn into major issues. So far it's working pretty well. My brother sent the following advice; So here is idea for those annoying moments for those sheltered in place couples. Create an imaginary third person, say Cheryl, and whenever one of those exasperating moments happens just blame Cheryl. Oh look...Cheryl left her dishes in the sink...again...

When Dana was pregnant with Will she was on bedrest for six months. Thinking it would give her something to do, I took a shoebox full of family photos to her to organize. Several months later I went back for a visit (they lived in Chicago at the time) and the shoebox was in exactly the same place I had placed it. When I asked about it, Dana said, 'If you don't want to do something, the fact that you're stuck in bed does NOT make you suddenly want to do it more' I totally get that.  Just because we can't go anywhere doesn't really make me want to clean the basement or even pull those weeds outside the bedroom door.....

As I've said before, I really don't think our life have changed significantly from what it has been. But the fact that It is no longer a choice but a requirement, the fact of the level of uncertainty pervading the atmosphere, the fact that we have all been brought to this by an unseen and unseeable and potentially deadly virus is exhausting....

I hope everyone out there in Blipland is staying home and keeping healthy. You all keep me going.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.