Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Road to nowhere....not!

Off to Rosa Brook today to photograph the general store that Claire told me about. It is an old building and well worth photographing but I drove past it to check out the tiny town with every intention of doing a U turn and returning. However the road ahead was less travelled and urged me on into unchartered territory.

The road was long and straight but undulated reminding me of a giant rollercoaster. Quite different to the corrugated dirt road I had driven down 10km previously. Have you ever driven on a corrugated dirt road.... you have to get your speed just right. Too slow and you feel every bump, too fast and you and the car are all in it are shaken to near breaking point. Just right and you get a nice full body massage as you drive. It can be quite difficult to see what is on the road ahead when the adjacent trees spread their shadows and camouflage the dips and peaks. I digress...

As I continued along my roller coaster the song "Road to nowhere" came to mind (pretty cool as this song is by the group Talking Heads...and that is what my head was doing to me). So there I was singing, "I'm on the road to nowhere"...repeating that line a couple of times and them humming as they are the only words I remember. I didn't have a destination...just a journey. Some distance down the road, like about 15km, there was a paddock with a flock of emus.... quick, stop, camera out and nothing. They decided to run for the bushes ...grrrr. It was a nice spot to stop though as someone had planted some flowering gums along the road and there were many birds flitting in an out of the foliage and a group of parrots made their way flying above the street and into the distance.

Surprise surprise eventually after about 30kms I came to a T intersection: right to Pemberton left to Busselton. So it suddenly (for me) became the road to anywhere on the Australian mainland provided you took the right turns. I headed to Busselton and this is where I took this photo of the famous (to us) Busselton jetty: it is the longest wooden jetty (pier) in the Southern Hemisphere, stretching almost 2 km out to sea. Because the shallow waters of Geographe Bay restricted ship movement, a long jetty was required so that the cut jarrah timber from the region could be transported to the ships.

Finally headed for home. I had been out for 5 hours and had driven 130kms and taken about 40 photos.

Still no baby...perhaps it will decide to arrive on Australia Day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.