South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

The Old and the New

Thought I would like you to see my two guitars - the lighter colour one is a Hagstrom and is "vintage" late 60's/early 70's. I bought it in 1980 from an after-shave soaked rather attractive young guy who led worship at a pretty awful Christian conference that I attended! He took my rather tinny sounding guitar in part exchange and I paid him £100 as well. The guitar was a huge improvement on my previous one and had a great sound being a dreadnought (i.e. big and solid wood). The weight of it increasingly became a problem in the last few years so I decided to replace it with a much lighter guitar. Didn't happen! I didn't like the sound of any guitars I played other than dreadnoughts, so I ended up with a Yamaha dreadnought. It is quite a bit lighter than the other one so is an improvement at least! You get such a lovely full sound from these big guitars and they're great for leading singing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.