Man Made

This Arab with his water jar came into my shop when I was a charity shop manager.  He must have been quite expensive originally but,like Humpty Dumpty, had a great fall and could only be imperfectly put together again.  I liked him though, so I paid for him and took him home.  He sits on my bookcase, too far away for most visitors to see his imperfections.

This morning I helped out at a Salvation Army day centre for the homeless.  Normally they can access food and drink all day long and stay in the centre.  Now we can only hand out bags of food and hot drinks through the doorway.  We were careful with hygiene, but didn't enforce the two metre rule.  As the manager said, they have nobody but each other.  The person who stayed in my mind was a smartly dressed lady, who we assumed had come to make a donation.  No, she was a self-employed cleaner and all her clients were over 70.  She had come for a food bank voucher, for the first time in her life, and was completely bewhildered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.