All the road signs said this today...

This sign today got me to think about the road I took to get where I am today. I started out after high school going to community college for a two year degree in law enforcement. Well I missed an important exam that couldn't be made up as it was a staged wreck and we had to figure out who's fault it was. The reason I missed it? A high temperature and the Chicken Pox. I would have to repeat the course again..

So I went to a trade school to learn electronics. The color codes on resistors, Ohm's law, the PIE chart and.. I got a top grade with nearly a perfect score for the class especially with power supply I built 5 to 12 volts DC 20 Amps. I just didn't have the patience to trace circuit boards to find why something failed and then fix the real fault.

Finally I ended up at what is outlawed today - a CDL Mill. Four days of book work and the you took the written state test. 4 days of learning all the parts on a truck and trailer and 4 days of driving. Then we took the state test with walking through a proper pretrip and driving around the block and backing up between cones. I passed on the first try and this qualified me do drive just about anything. 25 years later, I am still learning "the ropes". 

I found out today why we are considered an essential driver. Refrigeration. With out proper food storage other pandemics can easily happen. Considering I started my career hauling refrigerated products and now I'm hauling the refrigerators. I also thought of this song.

Headed to Portland tomorrow...   

*edit - Washington has a stay at home order as of tonight. Tomorrow will be my first day at work under it. Interesting times 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.