A mess (Emergency Blip)

My usually tidy (Mr B wouldn’t agree) lounge table is a disaster. Not surprising as so was this morning.

The washer/dryer may have packed up. It banged around, Mr B screamed out I’d left the door open(???) and it was banging. I ran in and found the machine had bounced off it’s plinth. Nothing to do with the door! Can only assume the contents had become unbalanced, and with prompt intervention ie stopping the machine and rebalancing them, all would have been fine. But Mr B didn’t know, bless him.

Checked the filter, and water gushed out. When I tried to replace the cover, the water still leaked out. Finally it stopped. But now can’t use the machine.

Had a repair shop lined up to come on Friday. Will that happen? The initial panic over, I realised I could probably wash everything by hand without too much problem, except for towels (they will never dry). So may have to use my nasty thin synthetic gym towels, which luckily I’ve never thrown out. Whether they will actually dry us is another matter?

Back to my table, everything is man made. The tabletop may be “natural” but it’s still been manufactured by man. Nothing much of excitement on it - a bottle of water, vitamins C/D, pill box, hand cream to soothe after all the hand washing, remote control and the all-important essential reusable shopping check list* (*TIP: enclosed in a film cover so I can use a dry wipe pen to mark what we need each week).

So Boris has spoken and we are now (virtually) on lockdown. There are still some anomalies, how do you check somebody’s only been out once to exercise? What are essential services –Electricians? Plumbers? the caretaker who takes our rubbish down?

More tomorrow and thanks to Philippa (ApolloFly) for today’s Mono Monday challenge “Manmade”

NB Walked 5km, 6813 steps - all without going out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.