Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

The Uses of Adversity

I spent a lot of time on my knees today. Not praying, though maybe I should have been.

The morning I spent crawling round the dining room floor, laying out the backing for the New York Beauty quilt, followed by the wadding and then the top. Then the whole thing had do be secured with safety pins, so it doesn't shift while I'm stitching it.  My knees were begging me to stop. Thank goodness that bit is done.

In the afternoon I tidied up a couple of small borders in the front. I found some pretty little primulas in the process, and a lot of self-sown winter aconite seedlings. I've transplanted some of the bigger ones, most looked too frail for that, but maybe they'll come up again next year, with luck.

I noticed the light shining through the quilt top as it hung on the table waiting to become the final layer, just like stained glass. I had to crawl underneath to get the shot. The extra, of the whole thing, was awkward too, as there was hardy any room to stand. It has come out looking like a giant diamond, but it is actually square.

I'm avoiding saying anything about the lock-down, we knew it was coming, but now it's here, it's taking a bit of getting used to. But we'll just have to!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.