KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

A Day of Kindness

First of all, thank you all so much for your hearts and stars and lovely comments on my 200th Blip anniversary yesterday. I was so touched by your kindness. What an amazing community this is...genuinely full of kind and gracious people. What a gift!

This morning we had a bit of rain, as predicted, but it cleared by late morning and I went for a 2 mile walk around the neighborhood. I saw a number of people out and about and we kept our distance but said hello. Our governor issued an edict this morning that we are to stay-in-place, but we can go outside...just not to any parks or beaches that are now closed. Thank goodness I can walk near my house!  

At one house (in the extras) someone had set out a lovely bowlful of hellebore blossoms along with a sign that said "A bit of happiness to share with all that walk by". I was really moved. It's these sorts of acts of kindness that are making such a difference in people's lives right now. 

Today's blip is another gorgeous spring flower - Anemone coronaria - or Poppy Anemone as its sometimes referred to, or Windflower. Although it's in the Anemone genus, it belongs to the Ranunculaceae family which may explain why I used to mix up Ranunculus and Poppy Anemone...they're both so brilliant and lush and bloom around the same time here in Portland. I planted this purple beauty in my new garden last fall - it had been in a container for a couple of years. So I can attest to its pleasant attitude towards me :-) USDA Zones 7-10 - back in New England where I used to live, these were indeed annuals. What a joy to find out I can grow them here as perennials. 

Be safe and well fellow Blipmates!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.