Keep the flag flying

First day trying to establish a new normal shuttered in the flat to work. Started out by spreading things out on the table and adjusting my various devices, screens and notes. I’ve started a handwritten notebook to keep the notes/agendas for various meetings and my to do lists all in one place...sure it’s an attempt to try and impose a sense of order amidst chaos.
Seem to have been on video or phone conferences all day, sometimes more engaged than others, but the throat continues to be like sandpaper so I’m making lots of cups of tea and other drinks to keep myself going. Had a flurry of activity around one group breaking ranks from agreed approach for students’ assessments, but hope I managed to get things back on track.
Got to 5pm and just needed to get out, so went for a walk through Holyrood Park to the palace, then up the Royal Mile and home. Very quiet everywhere but enough people around to not feel too eerie and everyone smiling and nodding at each other in micro acts of solidarity and connection despite everything else.
VickyG called and we had a nice chat before I made supper and then there were some jolly messages pinging around the family WhatsApp, so don’t feel too disconnected.
Whacked out though....I’m going to slump this evening

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.