NellyO

By NellyO

Saint Elvis

I went over to Glasgow after work as we were going to another Celtic Connections concert, this time at the Kelvingrove Museum (it's been far too long since I went there). Saint Elvis is still on the ground floor, although for some reason he is minus his neon halo these days.

I really enjoyed the concert - the main act was Le Mystere des Voix Bulgares which is a Bulgarian women's choir (with a couple of guys too occasionally) well-known in 'world music' circles. I thought they were amazing, it was a really out-of-the-ordinary sound with some absolutely fiendish rhythms, and vocal effects, yet they made it sound so easy. We also really liked the support act, which was English folkie Martin Simpson and Pakistani guitarist and singer Arieb Azhar (there's a bit of blurb about their collaboration here). Another wonderful night's music (unfortunately we were so far back that any photos I took would have been rubbish so I didn't bother).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.