A Little Spot of Sunshine

Dear Diary,

It was been a dreary winter with no squirrels or racoons and not a lot of birds so when Mr. Goldfinch arrived twittering away in Auntie's Tree I was thrilled beyond measure.  Perhaps he was celebrating the fast disappearing snow or the blue skies or perhaps Auntie was sending me a message that all will be well.  All I know is I was thrilled to see him.

Another day of "stitching in place", reading, napping and tummy tickles for Lulu.  Considering what is happening in other places, I am content with my lot right now.  My knee did not suffer from my efforts to clear the satellite dish and seems to be well on the mend.  I've been reading about all the acts of heroism during this crisis.  A 72 year old priest in northern Italy in one of the hardest hit villages, got the virus.  There were no ventilators available but his parishioners manage to buy one for him and he was doing well.  A young man, a man the priest did not know, was admitted and was near death so he gave his ventilator to him.  The priest died and the young man survived.  No greater love is there than to lay down you life for a complete stranger.  I wonder how many of us would be that selfless? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.