The Bridlepath

This is one of my favourite walks. You cross the muddy path through the trees, head over the field, and arrive at the crossroads.

This bridlepath has a blue plaque. The road between Woodhouses and Cannock has been around since 1656. It used to be called Woodhouses Lane. Now no traffic goes this way (apart from well informed dog walkers). Woodhouses is a tiny hamlet and there are only farms, cottages and a Woodland Trust reserve these days. It’s beautifully unspoilt. 

I last walked along here five weeks after my second hip replacement. I was still on elbow crutches but venturing further and further on my daily walks. ( our daily opportunity for exercise is bringing back so many memories).
It seemed such a long way and I felt such a sense of achievement when I got home. 

I couldn’t resist the glorious morning light so I set off earlier than I’d intended.

I was amazed.it wasn’t a huge challenge. It wasn’t really very far. I loved every moment but I was back home within 40 minutes. 

It was quiet. I only saw two dog walkers and a couple of other exercisers. But it gave an opportunity to call out a friendly greeting from the opposite side of the road (harder on the Bridlepath, but still possible.)

Home again. Butterfly visitors and my magnolia is wonderful. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.