Take the Long Way Home

It's Wide Wednesday (hosted this week and next by Freyjad) and the  loosened up theme as befits the circumstances is 'Bridge or Road'. On the local news this morning our Chief Constable was very clear that driving to a point to take a walk was 'not in the spirit' of the regulations'. I think he meant 'we can't arrest you for it - yet, but...). I have to say, I agree with him in this case but I'm lucky enough to live in a rural area.

Today, I walked down towards the village and took the footpath up the side of the valley and through some fields. It goes past a reservoir but it's underground and doesn't have the scenic value that an open reservoir would. It comes out at another road on the top side of the village and then I followed the road back home. Only about two miles but the first half is quite steep. The second half is all downwards.

By this time I already had a variety of wide shots but as I approached Colway Cross I noticed a couple sitting on the bench by the crossroads. nicely side lit by the low sun. I quickly stepped back and took the shot. It's a viewpoint I often use because it has such a good view down the valley and out to Dartmoor. On a day like today the hazy atmosphere added nicely to the background.

I've also added a slightly tighter crop in mono which I'm sure some people may prefer.

It's been nice to look at the pictures in the People at Work community challenge. Although my tree surgeon picture isn't credited in the video, I was pleased to note that when you bring the video, it's on the front before you press the 'Go' button.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.