Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Cut

I am a fan of cut benchmarks, although they probably sit third in the hierarchy of Ordnance Survey benchmarks behind triangulation pillars and flush brackets. Not content with just stumbling across them I have been known to scour old maps, on which they're marked, to find where they might be in my neighbourhood. They haven't always survived, but it's fun looking.

I've walked past this spot hundreds of times and have known that one of my old maps has one marked here (extra) but until today I hadn't seen it. Perhaps it's the quality of the light, or the time of day, or the height of the grass, but today it was shining like a beacon (close up in extras if you still haven't worked out what I'm talking about).

So that was today's bit of noticing.

A couple of feet away a Peacock was trying to persuade a Small Tortoiseshell that they could be more than friends.

Thank you for all your thoughts and comments in relation to yesterday's ruminations. As you can see I haven't stopped myself going out for a walk quite yet. At one point I did have to form an orderly socially distanced queue to take turns on a short stretch of narrow path, but that was about as congested as it got.

I did also venture to my local Co-op for the first time in ten days. I left it until later in the day and it was quiet in-store, but there was still plenty on the shelves, so perhaps a sign that panic buying is settling down a bit. I was able to get a few provisions over to the kids and their Mum who are still self-isolating.

And today's work schedule included a few proper online meetings, on MS Teams and on Zoom, which seemed to run ok. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.