Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Extreme Handwashing

I’m currently finding that my daily quota of exercise is the best and most helpful part of my new regime, and I’m grateful to be able to get out and be active. I know that not everybody finds this as easy.

Today I decided to get my bike out of the shed, pump up the tyres and go for a ride. It’s only the second time I’ve got back in the saddle since I had my hip surgery a couple of years ago and I’ve actually been quite nervous about it, but I’m pleased to report that it was... well, like riding a bike! 

As I was cycling purposefully along the prom, enjoying the sun, I spotted this swimmer who was clearly determined to put my own exercise efforts to shame! By the time I’d disembarked and got my camera out he was almost out of the water but I managed to grab a couple of shots before continuing on my way. 

Today’s song is one I never need an excuse to play - Kate and Anna McGarrigle’s rendition of Loudon Wainwright III’s ‘Swimming Song’ www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rq-n7twOSB4 which contains the glorious couplet, 

“This summer I swam in a public place, and a reservoir to boot,
At the latter I was informal, at the former I wore my suit..”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.