Hand-washing Unit

Taking my exercise on the moor this morning, it became immediately clear that people have stepped up in regard to their personal responsibility. It was sunny and almost warm, yet there were very few walkers about, far fewer than I would normally have expected to see. Those I did pass were very respectful of the new etiquette. Everyone left plenty of distance but not so much that we couldn't wish each other well with a few words and a smile. The camaraderie is growing.

Every time we touch a surface in a public place, even a gate on a countryside footpath, we have to think about who else might have touched it before us. The risk of transmission from such an event is inconceivably small, yet the number of such events across the population is inconceivably large. It's the kind of thing we normally dismiss. Not any longer. If we can work together to combat the spread of this virus by taking individual responsibility, perhaps the whole world might wake up to how tiny individual actions can bring about global change. 

I was impressed with the new gritstone hand-washing units that have been installed on the moor. I'd like to offer my thanks to all those people working behind the scenes to solve the thousands of logistical problems that this crisis has thrown up. I would once have relished that challenge myself. Right now, just thinking about it gives me a brain freeze. There are hundreds of thousands of genuine heroes out there, all doing their bit. I salute you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.