Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

“We can't dim the lights

on Broadway because the lights are already out”
Were words spoken a short while ago on BBC Radio 4 by one person from the American theatrical community about another, who sadly died yesterday from complications with Covid-19. Both had survived the horrors of HIV. I didn't catch either of their names, but no doubt if you are either bored or interested enough, and have enough bandwidth, you will be able to find out.

I did not to go to work, so I didn't need to dress, I didn't need to shower, I didn't need to make a packed lunch, I had time for a fuller pot of coffee, I didn't need to get my breakfast down my neck immediately, I didn't need to check my personal emails before heading out. So many changes to my daily routine even before 06:30am.

But, my personal lap top remains where it always has been, separate from the work machine, and I don't combine my work life with my home life. So I logged into the office at 6:30am in the hope of getting a connection. I got onto the company intranet, but there remains a problem with accessing the servers on which all my live and editable drawing files are stored. So I spent a useful day weeding out irrelevant files from my department's “market stall” on the company intranet. Without this downtime it is a job which would never have been addressed. I was very excited to see that my line manager had also updated the staff details on the home page of our market stall.

By 3:30pm I had had enough, so I messaged my line manager to let him know that I was about to clock off, and then finally got dressed and went out for a walk in the late afternoon sunshine.

Not surprised to find the library closed, but happy to notice this totem on the lawn in front. A little scrutiny suggests that this decorated tree is a Mother's Day acknowledgement from father and children to mother who was born in August 1973 and who died in July 2019. Tokens suggest she was fond of fairies and strong beer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.