bimble

By monkus

Xian shan

Today the air's clear again, the wind carrying just enough of a chill to make it a pleasant morning, excuses for inactivity running out as the caffeine from cup number three beginning to filter into my brain, cogs creaking, bag packed and off towards the mountain, thinking that I should have worn another top, that the breeze carries little more chill than I'd felt before the caffeine kicked in properly.


At the bottom of the steps there's a large gathering, at least twenty people most of them, at a guess, late fifties or upwards, maskless and closely packed, guided by one slightly younger man with a microphone. I wonder if it's a tour group, if they're aware of what's going on, that they're in the most vulnerable demographic, slightly irked by myself at the thought -  there's no policy of such things here, quick action by the government allowing the island to avoid the worst of what's happening beyond. At the first rest area they've paused, taking up most of the space, blocking the path up and down, I wait, smile as I see them choose the right hand path, a more direct route up towards the big stones but the one I tend to avoid as it's too busy for my taste, the mountain being a place to seek some kind of solitude, besides it's not where I'm headed.


Further in the paths are quieter, but then it's a weekday and there are a few people wandering around, although it does feel quieter than the norm. For me it's no bad thing, it's a space to think, an escape from the concrete sprawl below. I find it odd that this has become a familiar ecosystem, walking beneath the bamboo, the showy flowers, the path cut through the jungle winding its way through the hills, steep stairways and pavilions scattered amongst the foliage, outdoor gyms alongside. But today is really just to see how unfit I am, not as bad as expected being the answer, a gentle walk, another day the higher path but today just a wander with a camera, up elephant mountain and around to the temple above the old mine, the line of Buddha images stretching alongside the road, the weird and wonderful local deities above, and one huge figure who I must have passed a hundred times and never noticed, as a couple of dogs lounge in the shadow of a wall and fresh painted dragons flash fiery tongues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.