Craig's Journal

By Fishingplus

Around the House

Nothing to see here - move along. A photo from the mantle of our fireplace. There is a bit of history behind the tall beer stein on the left. On it is written the Lord's Prayer, in English. On a trip to Europe when I was in high school in 1963, I purchased one of these stein's in Cologne, Germany, for my uncle, only it was written in German. He had it on their mantle for years, but after he passed away I have no idea what became of it, but I always really liked it. I managed to find one several years ago, don't remember when or where, but was thrilled that I could even locate a replacement. Those of you in Germany may still be able to purchase these, but perhaps beer steins are not so much collected any more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.