Closed

The theme of Abstract Thursday is Inside. I couldn't get inside the plastic covering the bulk foods section to get my favourite roasted pumpkin seeds because it was closed. Just as well. Original in the extra. I wanted to leave the sign in with the abstracted background.
We were so happy to FaceTime with Krista this morning and catch up with her. She and Dan are doing well. Dan can still go to work and Krista's work at the barn will last longer than expected. The horses were supposed to be moved out on April 1st but can't be moved now until things are back to normal. Great that she has a job that doesn't involve social distancing, and she's happy to hang out with the horses and her cats. We had a good virtual visit and some laughs. Made my day.
I went to town early this morning, thinking that there would be fewer people shopping. I thought Thrifty's opened at 8 and that's when I arrived. I found out as I was going through the checkout that it's now opening at 7 for seniors. I'll remember that next time. I got tears in my eyes when I went in. There was a security guard just inside the door who gave me a cart that had been sanitized. I asked our friend who works in the bakery department how he was doing. Fine physically but off balance mentally. I also saw another friend and we chatted while maintaining social distance. She said how weird it is to have conversations without hugs. I agreed. As I was walking down one aisle, Beautiful Day by U2 started playing and that set me off again. I had to stop and compose myself. It was so sad to drive through town and see hardly any people or cars. It's good that people are staying home though, and we're only going to town when we absolutely have to for perishables.
We got a very kind email from our young neighbours next door last night telling us that they were going to town this morning and would be happy to pick up anything we needed. I'd already planned to go so thanked them and told them that we'd be happy to help out if they needed anything. We're especially thankful for good neighbours and friends these days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.